My New Year’s Resolution

 

 I always found January so arbitrary. September was when the school year started and the season was changing.  We were secretly gearing up for all the holidays that stack up in the following months and I was turning a year older. So I have always thought of my New Year being September.
Thus I must have a resolution right? This year I have decided to really celebrate each moment as it comes. I know this sounds like a hallmark card but i was thinking about how often am i disconnected from the present moment because i am planning something for a future date. I am the kind of girl who looks ahead with such excitement that when the actual reason for happiness occurs, i am already speeding off to whats next. This doesnt seem healthy to me.

So;

  1. I am embracing every single cold sunny day we have this fall and driving slower to enjoy the leaves. Then I am going to enjoy all the cold rainy build a fire and make soup days too.
  2. I am dressing up for Halloween, even if it just means wearing a tiara and wings from Target and not worry about november until november
  3. I am eating the food that is in season now  when it is at its peak of flavor. 
    (right now we have squash and figs and apples everywhere!)  ((i will worry about fava beans later))
  4. I will not drink eggnog until December even though i see it at the store now but when i do have my first eggnog latte i am going to RELISH it.
  5. I will wear all my favorite fall clothes until it is time to start wearing all of my favorite winter clothes.

 So we shall see how it goes. I am a planner by nature but i dont want to miss everything this year. I want to be present for it. I think writing in my blog helps me too.

All of this started with this tree. One day, it just exploded into these colors that dont even look real. Every evening and every morning i stand in front of it and think WOW, did i even notice how beautiful this was last year before i was worrying about how to string it with christmas lights?

Leave a comment